Night Eternal (2008)


    Like no other bands on this planet, the Portuguese translate the sadness and despair as well as the enterprising spirit and the raving passion of their countrymen into the language of heavy metal. Moonspell were among the founders and foremost protagonists of that style during the nineties. Like the Portuguese metropolis, "Night Eternal" is riddled by a multitude of alleys and places. Moonspell s city of Lisbon and their new album share a wise and experienced beauty as well as the opposing principles of heat and cold, life and death, severity and gentleness, male strength and female magic. Moonspell have re-discovered themselves once more and still found a way back to their origins. They continue to couple the fire within their souls with poetic emotionality, a gentle touch of the erotic, as well as a distinct melancholic mood.

    Fernando Ribeiro – vocals
    Pedro Paixão – keyboards, guitars
    Ricardo Amorim – guitars
    Mike Gaspar – drums

    Year 2008 e.v
    All music by Moonspell. All lyrics by Fernando Ribeiro.
    Recorded at the Antfarm studios, Arrrhus, Denmark, January 2008.
    Produced, engineered, mixed and mastered by Tue Madsen.
    Additional engineering by Jacob Olsen.
    Pre-produced and arranged by Waldemar Sorychta at Inferno studios, Portugal, November 2007.

    Female vocals on Scorpion Flower by Anneke van Giersbergen / Agua de Annique
    Bass recorded by Niclas Etelävuori/Amorphis. Niclas appears courtesy of Nuclear Blast Records.
    All female choirs and additional vocals performed and arranged by The Crystal Mountain Singers : Carmen Simoes (Ava Inferi), Sophia Vieira (Cinemuerte) and Patricia Andrade (The Vanity Chair).
    Recorded at inferno studios, Portugal by Pedro Paixão and Jorge Pina, December 2007.
    All keyboard and samplers recorded by Pedro Paixão at Inferno studios, Portugal, Nov-Dec. 2007.
    Live bass player : Aires Pereira.

    All artwork by Seth Siro Anton (
    Cover model : Natalie Shau (
    MOONSPELL logo by Adriano Esteves (
    Band portraits by Edgar Keats (

    Published by Sony ATV Publishing

    Night Eternal executive production by Fernando Ribeiro for Cherry Pick 08
    Night Eternal (2008)
    Released 19 May 2008
    1. "At Tragic Heights" 6:51
    2. "Night Eternal" 4:09
    3. "Shadow Sun" 4:24
    4. "Scorpion Flower" 4:33
    5. "Moon in Mercury" 4:22
    6. "Hers Is the Twilight" 4:53
    7. "Dreamless (Lucifer and Lilith)" 5:16
    8. "Spring of Rage" 4:04
    9. "First Light" 5:43

    Limited Edition Extra Tracks:

    10. "Age of Mothers" 5:42
    11. "Scorpion Flower" (Dark Lush Cut) 4:36
    12. "Scorpion Flower" (The Feeble Cut) 3:57

    Limited edition bonus DVD:

    "Live at the Wacken Open Air 2007":
    Memento Mori
    Blood Tells

    "Finisterra" (Video)
    "Finisterra - Making Of (Video)
    "Luna" (Video)

    Night Eternal (Remastered - 2019)

    01. At Tragic Heights
    02. Night Eternal
    03. Shadow Sun
    04. Scorpion Flower
    05. Moon In Mercury
    06. Hers Is The Twilight
    07. Dreamless (Lucifer And Lilith)
    08. Spring Of Rage
    09. First Light 5:43
    10. Age of Mothers (Bonus Track)
    11. Earth of Mine (Bonus Track)
    12: Unhearted (Bonus Track)



    Listen now online

    Where to buy

    Based in Portugal Moonspell Official Store
    Based in Portugal